Spokane Sexual Misconduct Attorney
Sexual Misconduct in Washington
It is always important to know your boundaries and what can constitute sexual misconduct because it is not always clear. Knowing what is considered sexual misconduct can help save you from un-wanted physical and mental trauma. The definition of sexual misconduct encompasses harassment, assault, and any other form of sexual conduct that implies threat or was not consented to. Examples include: touching, exposure of private parts, solicitation, and any form of intercourse among others. In Washington the penalties for such crimes typically extend to felony charges that include rape and indecent liberties. All of which are defined within a sexual context of un-consented sexual contact or intercourse.
Charges and penalties include:
- 1st/2nd Degree Rape (Class A Felony) – sexual misconduct with the use of deadly force (a weapon or causing serious injury) or illegally entering an area to reach the victim. This is punishable by $50,000 fine and/or life in prison.
- 3rd Degree Rape – which is also known as the “date rape”, constitutes sexual misconduct after the victim expressly did not give their consent. Punishable by $10,000 fine and/or five years in prison.
- Indecent Liberties – is when an assailant forces a victim who is incapable of giving consent to perform sexual acts. This holds the same penalties as a class A felony.
Penalties for such crimes do not only extend to the typical jail sentence and fine, but come with other stiff penalties, such as needing to register as a sex offender and the social stigma of becoming a sex offender. At the Sweetser Law Firm we understand that sexual misconduct takes a toll on one’s life in unforeseen ways. If you feel you have suffered sexual misconduct it is important to consult an attorney immediately to begin your journey to self-recovery.
Contact us today at (509) 444-4444 for a free case review!
Sexual Misconduct with a Minor
In contrast to most sexual misconduct laws, sexual conduct with a minor (child under the age of 18) does not relate to force or consent. There is an inherent power gap in the eyes of the law for anyone who has sexual contact with any minor. The law in this case focuses largely on the age gap of the perpetrator and the sexual act that occurred with the child in question regardless of consent.
Some punishable sexual offenses in the State of Washington include:
- Child Molestation
- Sexual Misconduct
- Sexual Exploitation of a Child
Unfortunately, there are statistics that every year a larger percentage of these cases occur and go unreported by the victim. It is important to educate our children on what can constitutes sexual misconduct with those that are older than them as a preventative measure.
Contact us today at (509) 444-4444 for a free case review to begin your journey to recovery.